About/Contact UsDistance Resources
DatabasesFree Online ResourcesDatabases for Alumni
eResourcesUsing the Online Catalog
General InterestsInterpreting Behaviour (IB): EthicsLeading in Faith (LF): Teaching FaithLeading in Mission (LM): Leadership and MissionInterpreting Scripture (IS): BibleInterpreting the Past (IP): Church HistoryInterpreting Faith (IF): TheologyLeading in Care (LC): Pastoral CareLeading in Worship (LW): Liturgy
Research ToolsCourse Guides
This is the "Free Online Resources" page of the "
Homepage of Lexington Theological Seminary Library
" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Homepage of Lexington Theological Seminary Library
 

Where serving you is our mission
Last Updated: Oct 21, 2014 URL: http://lextheo.libguides.com/home Print Guide

Free Online Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Free Resources

A Note About These Resources:

These resources are provided because there can be a wealth of information in them. However, they have not been individually vetted or curated by LTS faculty and staff, and some of them contain material that is not scholarly in nature. Use caution browsing them, and when in doubt ask your professor or a librarian about the reliability of a particular source. That having been said, these can provide a good starting point for research, as they encompass a wide range of material.

Religion

A selective, annotated guide to a wide variety of electronic resources of interest to those who are involved in the study and practice of religion, including syllabi, electronic texts, electronic journals, web sites, bibliographies, liturgies, reference resources, and software.

The Christian Classics Ethereal Library is a digital library of hundreds of classic Christian books selected for edification and education. Offered in PDF or HTML format.

Online encyclopedia that covers the many links between religion and societies. Managed by the Hartford Institute for Religion Research.

A comprehensive archive of data on religion, with tools for educators, journalists, religious congregations, and researchers, with both American and international collections. 

More than 6,000 articles and chapters. Topics include Old and New Testament, Theology, Ethics, History and Sociology of Religion, Communication and Cultural Studies, Pastoral Care, Counseling, Homiletics, Worship, Missions and Religious Education. Searchable.

Presents summaries of current religion research to educate pastors, denominational leaders, religion reporters and the general public, and to assist the site's users in understanding the use of statistics and poll data, designing church web sites, on searching the web for information, and the implications of the Internet on religious life.

Conducts surveys, demographic studies and other social science research to examine a wide range of issues concerning religion and society in the United States and around the world

A curriculum enrichment service offering teachers practical help in planning courses and presenting rigorous subject matter to students. Divining America: Religion in American History is designed to help teachers of American history bring their students to a greater understanding of the role religion has played in the development of the United States.

Transcriptions of public domain texts on religion, mythology, folklore and the esoteric.

Lectionary, Scripture Study, Worship Links, and Resources.


Ethics

Promotes research in the history of ethics and moral theology, theoretical issues relating to the interplay of theology and ethics, methodology in ethical reflection and investigation, and comparative religious ethics.

A think tank serving international affairs professionals, teachers and students, and the attentive public. Resources covering current events and major questions in the field of ethics.

Serving international affairs professionals, teachers and students, and the attentive public, with the aim of helping individuals and groups explore the vast array of issues in bioethics

The Presidential Commission for the Study of Bioethical Issues (the Bioethics Commission) is an advisory panel of the nation’s leaders in medicine, science, ethics, religion, law, and engineering, and it advises the President on bioethical issues arising from advances in biomedicine and related areas of science and technology.


Philosophy

Organizes scholars from around the world in philosophy and related disciplines to create and maintain an up-to-date reference work.

Contains versions of some classics of early modern philosophy, and a few from the 19th century, prepared with a view to making them easier to read while leaving intact the main arguments, doctrines, and lines of thought.

A newsstand magazine on philosophy and the study of ideas, published bimonthly and aimed at both professionals and interested citizens.

A website where anyone can pose philosophical questions, and professional philosophers can provide answers.


Environment

A global research organization that covers more than 50 countries and covers the sustainable use of resources in order to better develop economies.


American History

Uses a variety of sources from textbook to primary sources, articles, and essays to create a number of interactive modules to explore American History.

 A digital publishing initiative that provides Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture. Currently includes sixteen thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs.


Politics and News

A non-governmental organization that informs and advocates for state legislatures.

A digital commons -- much like Huffington Post -- where users from a variety of specialties can write and publish articles and essays on news and politics.

News and current events from around the world.


General Resources

Project Gutenberg

Hathi Trust

Archive.org

The Online Books Page

The British Library

The DOAJ

GoogleBooks

GoogleScholar

Email: Library Reference Desk --- Phone: 859.280.1229 -- Skype: lts.library -- Address: 230 Lexington Green Circle, Suite 300, Lexington, KY 40503

Webmail -- Seminary Homepage

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip