About/Contact UsDistance ResourcesFaculty
DatabasesFree Online Resources
The DTL and MoreUsing the Online Catalog
General InterestsInterpreting Behaviour (IB): EthicsLeading in Faith (LF): Teaching FaithLeading in Mission (LM): Leadership and MissionInterpreting Scripture (IS): BibleInterpreting the Past (IP): Church HistoryInterpreting Faith (IF): TheologyLeading in Care (LC): Pastoral CareLeading in Worship (LW): Liturgy
Research ToolsCourse Guides
This is the "Leading in Worship (LW): Liturgy" page of the "Homepage of the Lexington Theological Seminary Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Homepage of the Lexington Theological Seminary Library  

Last Updated: Jun 18, 2017 URL: http://lextheo.libguides.com/home Print Guide

Leading in Worship (LW): Liturgy Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

LW (Worship & Preaching)

E-Books:

 

Haldeman, Scott. Toward Liturgies that Reconcile: Race and Ritual Among African-American and European-American Protestants. Ashgate, 2007.

Explores the roots of African-American and European-American worship traditions, and the intersections of the two, on the way to offering possibilities to overcome racial divides.

http://lextheo.worldcat.org/oclc/427508900

 

Hunsinger, George. The Eucharist and Ecumenism: Let Us Keep the Feast. Cambridge, 2008.

Explores the understandings of the relationship between Eucharistic presence, notions of sacrifice, and social-ethical implications of the meal, among confessional orientations in the latter 20th and initial years of the 21st centuries.

http://lextheo.worldcat.org/oclc/215173567

 

Kieckhefer, Richard, Theology in Stone: Church Architecture from Byzantium to Berkeley. Oxford University Press, 2004.

Examines the spatial dynamics, centering focus, aesthetic impact, and symbolic resonance of sacred space through Christian history.

http://lextheo.worldcat.org/oclc/62869606

 

LaRue, Cleophus J. The Heart of Black Preaching. Westminster John Knox, 2000.

Offers a hermeneutical clue to African American preaching in five “domains of experience,” and then examines them at work in the preaching of several historical figures.

http://lextheo.worldcat.org/oclc/45843513

 

McMichael, Ralph N. Eucharist: A Guide for the Perplexed. T. & T. Clark, 2010.

A guide to the history, practices, theology, and life of the Eucharist.

http://lextheo.worldcat.org/oclc/676697127

 

Pembroke, Neil. Pastoral Care in Worship: Liturgy and Psychology in Dialogue. T. & T. Clark, 2010.

Addresses the pastoral-care dynamics of four movements in worship: reconciliation, lament, hope, and communion.

http://lextheo.worldcat.org/oclc/676700889

 

Pickrel, Lara Blackwood. Eldership at the Lord’s Table. Chalice Press, 2010.

Designed to give elders the instruction and assistance they need for their Table Ministry without expecting them to read a lengthy volume on history and theology.

http://lextheo.worldcat.org/oclc/708564274

 

The Renewed Homiletic. Ed. O. Wesley Allen, Jr. Fortress, 2010.

Each of five distinguished scholars, inaugurators of what became known as “The New Homiletic” of the 1970s and 1980s, offers a lecture describing how his mind has changed, preaches a sermon reflecting these changes, and participates in a panel discussion with younger respondents.

http://lextheo.worldcat.org/oclc/422764156

 

Websites:

 

Worship:

 

Common Worship

PDF files of liturgical resources from the Church of England.  Includes pastoral resources and those keyed to the seasons of the liturgical year.

http://www.churchofengland.org/prayer-worship/worship/texts/common-worship-pdf-files.aspx

 

Lift Up Your Hearts

Huge collection of texts, articles, liturgies, images, and other resources, related to worship.

http://www.worship.ca/

 

Lift Up Your Hearts: Sites Devoted to Worship & Liturgy

Listing of links to journals, articles and essays, helps for designing worship, arts and movement resources, lectionaries and RCL aids, and historical and contemporary liturgies.

http://www.worship.ca/sec4.html#rclpreach

 

Liturgy (Order of St. Benedict)

Links to liturgical texts and commentaries, and music.

http://www.osb.org/liturgy/

 

Oremus Hymnal

Indexed by first line and tune, with suggestions for use with Revised Common Lectionary.

http://www.oremus.org/hymnal/

Painted Prayerbook

Images and other arts resources related to worship.

http://paintedprayerbook.com/

 

Universalis

Online Daily Office resources, adjustable to individual time zones.

http://www.universalis.com/

 

Worshiplinks.com

Links to online articles and resources for worship, and arts and music related to worship.

http://www.worshiplinks.com/

 

World Prayers

Archive of prayers from all religious orientation.

http://www.worldprayers.org/index.html

 

Preaching:

 

Wabash Center Internet Guide to Religion - Preaching

http://www.wabashcenter.wabash.edu/resources/result-browse.aspx?topic=697&pid=650

 

The African American Lectionary

Includes sermons, commentary, and other resources that illuminate “liturgical moments of significance to most African American Christians.”

http://www.theafricanamericanlectionary.org/

 

American Rhetoric

Huge collection of free online resources related to rhetoric in the U.S. Includes text, audio, and video of speeches and sermons, as well as links to longer analyses and historical texts of rhetorical theory.

http://www.americanrhetoric.com/

 

Center for Excellence in Preaching

Conversation and resources concerning creating and preaching sermons.  Hosted by Calvin Seminary.

http://cep.calvinseminary.edu/index.php

 

DesperatePreacher.com

Resources for preaching and liturgy.

http://www.desperatepreacher.com/

 

Homiletic Theology Project

A project of Professor David Schnasa Jacobsen, of Boston University School of Theology. HTP encourages exploring the many places where homiletics deals theologically with culture, context, tradition, and sermonic language.  Searchable.

http://www.bu.edu/homiletical-theology-project/

 

John Wesley’s Sermons Online

Searchable by number, text, and title.

http://www.umcmission.org/Find-Resources/John-Wesley-Sermons/Numeric-Index

 

Lectionaries

History, explanation, and links to various lectionaries online.

http://www.skypoint.com/members/waltzmn/Lectionary.html

 

Postmodern Preaching

Postmodern approaches to preaching.  Includes philosophy and explanations of postmodern orientations.  No sermon resources, but intended to provide theoretical grounding for preaching to postmoderns.

http://www.postmodernpreaching.net/index.html

 

Preachers' Exchange

A collection of free Dominican email and web preaching resources.  Includes lectionary resources, reflections on the lessons, book reviews, and sermons.

http://www.preacherexchange.com/index.htm

 

Preaching.org

Evangelical-oriented blog on preaching.

http://www.preaching.org/

 

The Revised Common Lectionary

Vanderbilt University Divinity Library collection of texts and images. Searchable.

http://lectionary.library.vanderbilt.edu/

 

Social Justice Lectionary

Lectionary commentary from a Process Theology perspective

http://www.socialjusticelectionary.com/

 

The Spurgeon Archive

Online collection of texts and sermons by Charles Haddon Spurgeon.

http://www.spurgeon.org/mainpage.htm

 

The Text This Week

One of the best websites for lectionary preaching.  Organized by Sunday in liturgical calendar, but searchable by scripture text.  Includes links to texts in several versions, commentaries, articles, blogs, liturgical materials, lectionary-related music, and images.

http://www.textweek.com/

 

Working Preacher

Includes lectionary commentary, articles on the craft of preaching, blog entries, and other resources.

http://www.workingpreacher.org/

Email: Library Reference Desk --- Phone: 859.280.1229 -- Skype: lts.library -- Address: 230 Lexington Green Circle, Suite 300, Lexington, KY 40503

Webmail -- Seminary Homepage

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip