About/Contact UsDistance ResourcesFaculty
DatabasesFree Online Resources
The DTL and MoreUsing the Online Catalog
General InterestsInterpreting Behaviour (IB): EthicsLeading in Faith (LF): Teaching FaithLeading in Mission (LM): Leadership and MissionInterpreting Scripture (IS): BibleInterpreting the Past (IP): Church HistoryInterpreting Faith (IF): TheologyLeading in Care (LC): Pastoral CareLeading in Worship (LW): Liturgy
Research ToolsCourse Guides
This is the "Leading in Mission (LM): Leadership and Mission" page of the "Homepage of the Lexington Theological Seminary Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Homepage of the Lexington Theological Seminary Library  

Last Updated: Jun 18, 2017 URL: http://lextheo.libguides.com/home Print Guide

Leading in Mission (LM): Leadership and Mission Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

LM (Leadership & Mission)

E-Books:

 

Chung, Paul S. Public Theology in an Age of World Christianity: God’s Mission as Word-Event. Palgrave Macmillan, 2010.

Theological exploration of the public nature of missions as a “word-event” in light of “postmodern theory, “the postcolonial challenge, and economic justice in an era of globalization and World Christianity.”

http://lextheo.worldcat.org/oclc/649388175

 

Dozeman, Thomas B. Holiness and Ministry: A Biblical Theology of Ordination. Oxford University Press, 2008.

Reflection on the biblical roots of ordination, in order to strengthen the vocational identity of the ordained and to provide a framework for ecumenical dialogue.

http://lextheo.worldcat.org/oclc/268650134

 

Nelson, Gary V., Gordon W. King, and Terry G. Smith, Going Global: A Congregation’s Introduction to Mission Beyond Our Borders. Chalice, 2011.

Outlines the changes in understanding of “missions” that Christianity has undergone in the past decade particularly, and then lays out possibilities for new understandings and practices for missional congregations.

http://lextheo.worldcat.org/oclc/732956017

 

Percy, Martyn. Engaging with Contemporary Culture: Christianity, Theology, and the Concrete Church. Ashgate, 2005.

Examines various dimensions of contemporary congregations, with a view to issues of authority and cultural credulity, consumerism, practical wisdom in society, and formation and transformation.

http://lextheo.worldcat.org/oclc/319491571

 

Pickard, Stephen. Theological Foundations for Collaborative Ministry. Ashgate, 2009.

A revisiting of issues of what was once called “lay ministry,” in this case, exploring ways and means of collaborative ministry in various settings.

http://lextheo.worldcat.org/oclc/498499703

 

Pickrel, Lara Blackwood. Eldership at the Lord’s Table. Chalice Press, 2010.

Designed to give elders the instruction and assistance they need for their Table Ministry without expecting them to read a lengthy volume on history and theology.

http://lextheo.worldcat.org/oclc/708564274

 

Schrock-Shenk, Carolyn, and Lawrence Ressler. Making Peace with Conflict: Practical Skills for Conflict Transformation. Herald Press, 1999.

Explores the nature of conflict, its sources, communication during conflict, the functions of power within conflict, and methods of transformation.

http://lextheo.worldcat.org/oclc/45729901

 

Unruh, Heidi Rolland, and Ronald J. Sider. Saving Souls, Serving Society: Understanding the Faith Factor in Church-Based Social Ministry. Oxford University Press, 2005.

Explores the various understandings of “evangelism” and “service,” in light of recent shifts in missional trends and social realities.

http://lextheo.worldcat.org/oclc/62287908

 

Women and Ordination in the Christian Churches: International Perspectives. Ed. Ian Jones, Kirsty Thorpe, and Janet Wootton. T. & T. Clark, 2008.

Explores Christian experiences of ordaining women in theological, sociological, historical and anthropological perspectives.

http://lextheo.worldcat.org/oclc/676699989

 

Websites:

 

Congregations

A journal published by the Alban Institute, covering various issues related to congregational leadership.  Searchable by subject, author, or title, or the entire run of issues can be browsed.

Available through EBSCO ATLA database.

 

Journal of Religious Leadership

A journal published by the Academy of Religious Leadership, covering various issues related to congregational leadership.  Searchable by subject, author, or title, or the entire run of issues can be browsed.

Available through EBSCO ATLA database.

 

Leadership

A journal published by Christianity Today, covering various issues related to congregational leadership.  Searchable by subject, author, or title, or the entire run of issues can be browsed.

Available through EBSCO ATLA database.

 

Leadership

A division of the larger ChangingMinds.org website, treats topics such as leadership theories, leadership styles, leadership action, followership, and other related notions.  Includes links to other online resources, books, and blogs.

http://changingminds.org/disciplines/leadership/leadership.htm

 

Missional Church Reading Room

Includes full-text documents relating to missions and missional-church perspectives.

https://www.tyndale.ca/seminary/mtsmodular/reading-rooms/missional

 

Missionary Etexts Archive

An electronic repository of historical texts by, about and for missionaries.

http://www.missionaryetexts

Email: Library Reference Desk --- Phone: 859.280.1229 -- Skype: lts.library -- Address: 230 Lexington Green Circle, Suite 300, Lexington, KY 40503

Webmail -- Seminary Homepage

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip