About/Contact UsDistance ResourcesFaculty
DatabasesFree Online Resources
The DTL and MoreUsing the Online Catalog
General InterestsInterpreting Behaviour (IB): EthicsLeading in Faith (LF): Teaching FaithLeading in Mission (LM): Leadership and MissionInterpreting Scripture (IS): BibleInterpreting the Past (IP): Church HistoryInterpreting Faith (IF): TheologyLeading in Care (LC): Pastoral CareLeading in Worship (LW): Liturgy
Research ToolsCourse Guides
This is the "Leading in Care (LC): Pastoral Care" page of the "Homepage of the Lexington Theological Seminary Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Homepage of the Lexington Theological Seminary Library  

Last Updated: Aug 11, 2017 URL: http://lextheo.libguides.com/home Print Guide

Leading in Care (LC): Pastoral Care Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

LC (Pastoral Care)

E-Books:

 

Aldredge-Clanton, Jann. Counseling People with Cancer. Westminster John Knox Press, 1998.

Addresses the theological, psychological, and practical aspects of a cancer diagnosis, and pastoral resources a caregiver may offer.

http://lextheo.worldcat.org/oclc/45843205

 

Fowler, Gene. The Ministry of Lament: Caring for the Bereaved. Chalice Press, 2010.

From an orientation that pastoral care in times of loss is a “ministry of lament,” seeks to help enable mourners to cry out to God in trust.

http://lextheo.worldcat.org/oclc/815969412

 

Held, Virginia. The Ethics of Care: Personal, Political, and Global. Oxford University Press, 2006.

Explores the intersection of caring practices and social justice, rights, and responsibilities, in a global context.

http://lextheo.worldcat.org/oclc/65178063

 

Lartey, Emmanuel Y. In Living Color: An Intercultural Approach to Pastoral Care and Counseling. Jessica Kingsley Publishers, 2003.

After providing a history of pastoral care and a survey of theories of pastoral care, Lartey examines the practice in intercultural and pluralistic contexts, with case-studies.

http://lextheo.worldcat.org/oclc/54937036

 

Osiek, Carolyn, and David L. Balch. Families in the New Testament World: Households and House Churches. Westminster John Knox Press, 1997.

Explores the dynamics and realities of family life in the world of the New Testament.

http://lextheo.worldcat.org/oclc/47008326

 

Pembroke, Neil. Pastoral Care in Worship: Liturgy and Psychology in Dialogue. T. & T. Clark, 2010.

Addresses the pastoral-care dynamics of four movements in worship: reconciliation, lament, hope, and communion.

http://lextheo.worldcat.org/oclc/676700889

 

Perdue, Leo G. Families in Ancient Israel. Westminster John Knox Press, 1997.

Explores the dynamics and realities of family life in the world of the First Testament.

http://lextheo.worldcat.org/oclc/35559114

 

Schmitz, Eileen. Staying in Bounds: Straight Talk on Boundaries for Effective Ministry. Chalice Press, 2010.

Outlines the nature and purpose of boundaries within various ministry settings.

http://lextheo.worldcat.org/oclc/708564279

 

Weaver, Andrew J., and Harold George Koenig. Pastoral Care of Alcohol Abusers. Fortress, 2009.

A brief, basic introduction, designed to help clergy and other helping professionals recognize and address alcohol problems within their congregations.

http://lextheo.worldcat.org/oclc/297149651

 

Websites:

 

Classics in the History of Psychology

Online collection of full-text resources.  Searchable by author and topic.

http://psychclassics.yorku.ca/index.htm

 

Death and Dying

A list of online books and articles related to religious perspectives on death, dying, and bereavement.  Includes links to articles and brief summaries.

http://www.religion-online.org/listbycategory.asp?Cat=86

 

Encyclopedia of Psychology

Collection of topically-organized links to online resources, publications, and other resources.

http://www.psychology.org/

 

Journal of Pastoral Care and Counseling

Covers various issues related to ministry of pastoral care.  Searchable by subject, author, or title, or the entire run of issues can be browsed.

Available through EBSCO ATLA database.

 

Psychology of Religion Pages

A listing of resources in the areas concerning psychological aspects of religious belief and behavior.

http://www.psywww.com/psyrelig/

 

Spirituality & Health - Teaching and Learning

Collection of online articles treating various aspects of spirituality and physical, emotional, and mental health.

http://www.abdn.ac.uk/sdhp/teaching-and-learning-200.php

 

Theology of Disability - Teaching and Learning

Collection of online articles treating this topic.

http://www.abdn.ac.uk/sdhp/theology-of-disability-211.php

 

Email: Library Reference Desk --- Phone: 859.280.1229 -- Skype: lts.library -- Address: 230 Lexington Green Circle, Suite 300, Lexington, KY 40503

Webmail -- Seminary Homepage

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip