About/Contact UsDistance ResourcesFaculty
DatabasesFree Online Resources
The DTL and MoreUsing the Online Catalog
General InterestsInterpreting Behaviour (IB): EthicsLeading in Faith (LF): Teaching FaithLeading in Mission (LM): Leadership and MissionInterpreting Scripture (IS): BibleInterpreting the Past (IP): Church HistoryInterpreting Faith (IF): TheologyLeading in Care (LC): Pastoral CareLeading in Worship (LW): Liturgy
Research ToolsCourse Guides
This is the "Interpreting Scripture (IS): Bible" page of the "Homepage of the Lexington Theological Seminary Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Homepage of the Lexington Theological Seminary Library  

Last Updated: Aug 11, 2017 URL: http://lextheo.libguides.com/home Print Guide

Interpreting Scripture (IS): Bible Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

IS (Bible)

E-Books:

 

The Bible and the Hermeneutics of Liberation. Ed. Alejandro F. Botta and Pablo R. Andinach. Society of Biblical Literature, 2009.

Collection of articles examining various issues, perspectives, and texts, related to liberation.

http://lextheo.worldcat.org/oclc/587445897

 

The Blackwell Companion to the Hebrew Bible. Ed. Leo G. Perdue. Blackwell Publishers, 2001.

Collection of essays related to various aspects of the First Testament.

http://lextheo.worldcat.org/oclc/45618356

 

Callahan, Allen Dwight. The Talking Book: African Americans and the Bible. Yale University Press, 2006.

An examination of the ambiguous relationship between the Bible and the experience of African Americans, including oppressive and saving aspects, and scriptural metaphors that are descriptive of phases of their experiences.

http://lextheo.worldcat.org/oclc/173818936

 

The Cambridge Companion to Jesus. Ed. Markus Bockmuehl. Cambridge University Press, 2001.

Collection of essays treating various aspects of Jesus, his origins, life and work, and significance.

http://lextheo.worldcat.org/oclc/51296917

 

Early Christian Interpretation of the Scriptures of Israel: Investigations and Proposals. Ed. Craig A. Evans and James A. Sanders. Sheffield Academic Press, 1997.

Explores the ways in which early Christian writers and communities, from late antiquity through the New Testament period, interpreted the scriptures of Israel, as they sought to understand Jesus and the Gospel in relation to God's revelation and past acts in history.

http://lextheo.worldcat.org/oclc/741690033

 

A Feminist Companion to Reading the Bible: Approaches, Methods, and Strategies. Ed. Athalya Brenner and Carol Fontaine. Sheffield Academic Press, 1997.

Multiple authors address methods of biblical criticism, biblical genres, and various cultural varieties of feminist orientations on biblical texts.

http://lextheo.worldcat.org/oclc/741691022

 

The New Literary Criticism and the New Testament. Ed. Elizabeth Struthers Malbon and Edgar V. McKnight. Sheffield Academic Press, 1994.

Presents a variety of recent literary methodologies, and examples of their use with texts.

http://lextheo.worldcat.org/oclc/741690767

 

One Scripture or Many? Canon from Biblical, Theological, and Philosophical Perspectives. Ed. Christine Helmer and Christof Landmesser. Oxford University Press, 2004.

A collection of essays exploring issues of the formation and significance of the Bible as canon of sacred scripture.

http://lextheo.worldcat.org/oclc/70207560

 

Osiek, Carolyn, and David L. Balch. Families in the New Testament World: Households and House Churches. Westminster John Knox Press, 1997.

Explores the dynamics and realities of family life in the world of the New Testament.

http://lextheo.worldcat.org/oclc/47008326

 

The Oxford Handbook of Biblical Studies. Ed. J.W. Rogerson and Judith M. Lieu. Oxford University Press, 2006.

Collection of articles treating various aspects of the study of scripture, including various methods, history of interpretation, canon, inspiration and authority, and theologies of and within scripture.

http://lextheo.worldcat.org/oclc/139938990

 

Perdue, Leo G. Families in Ancient Israel. Westminster John Knox Press, 1997.

Explores the dynamics and realities of family life in the world of the First Testament.

http://lextheo.worldcat.org/oclc/35559114

 

Ralph, Margaret Nutting. And God Said What? An Introduction to Biblical Literary Forms. Paulist Press, 2003.

Introduces themes and characteristics of various biblical genres.

http://lextheo.worldcat.org/oclc/50773235

 

Schniedewind, William M. How the Bible Became a Book: The Textualization of Ancient Israel. Cambridge University Press, 2004.

Combines recent archaeological discoveries in the Middle East with insights from the history of writing to address how the Bible first came to be written down and then became sacred Scripture.

http://lextheo.worldcat.org/oclc/53306475

 

Stuart, Douglas. Old Testament Exegesis: A Handbook for Students and Pastors. Westminster John Knox Press, 2009.

Provides a careful step-by-step guide to exegesis of Old Testament passages.

http://lextheo.worldcat.org/oclc/46884292

 

The Postcolonial Biblical Reader. Ed. R. S. Sugirtharajah. Blackwell, 2006.

Provides an extensive survey of the interaction between postcolonial criticism and biblical studies, illustrate by postcolonial readings of various texts.

http://lextheo.worldcat.org/oclc/85804560

 

Theological Bible Commentary. Ed. Gail R. O’Day and David L. Petersen. Westminster John Knox Press, 2009.

A one-volume commentary that emphasizes theological questions in its investigation of texts: What does each biblical book say about God? How does the book describe God and portray Gods actions? Who is God in these biblical books?

http://lextheo.worldcat.org/oclc/810931688

 

To Each Its Own Meaning: An Introduction to Biblical Criticisms and Their Application. Ed. Steven R. Haynes and Steven L. McKenzie. Westminster John Knox Press, 1999.

Introduces several of the newer approaches to biblical study, and displays their use with biblical texts.

http://lextheo.worldcat.org/oclc/26363998

 

Topping, Richard R. Revelation, Scripture and Church: Theological Hermeneutic Thought of James Barr, Paul Ricoeur and Hans Frei. Ashgate, 2007.

A comparative examination of the constructive thought of three major figures regarding the intersection of revelation in scripture and church.

http://lextheo.worldcat.org/oclc/344100156

 

Walzer, Michael. In God's Shadow: Politics in the Hebrew Bible. Yale University Press, 2012.

Examines the laws, histories, prophecies, and wisdom of the ancient biblical writers and discusses their views on justice, hierarchy, war, the authority of kings and priests, and the experience of exile.

http://lextheo.worldcat.org/oclc/784957813

 

Witherington, Ben III. The Living Word of God: Rethinking the Theology of the Bible. Baylor University Press, 2007.

Examines issues of canonicity, inspiration, and authority of the Bible.

http://lextheo.worldcat.org/oclc/212907928

 

Websites:

 

Geography & the Bible

Online maps of the Bible territories and history.

http://www.bible-history.com/maps/

 

GNT: Online Greek New Testament

http://wesley.nnu.edu/gnt/index.htm

 

Online Critical Pseudepigrapha

Electronic editions of the best critical texts of the "Old Testament" Pseudepigrapha and related literature. Includes links to authors and keywords.

http://ocp.tyndale.ca/

 

Online Hebrew Bible

http://kodesh.snunit.k12.il/i/t/t0.htm

 

The New Testament Gateway

Browse or search annotated links on everything connected with the academic study of the New Testament and Christian Origins.  Includes topical pages as: Biblical Translations, Canon, Gospels and Acts, GreekNTGateway, Hebrews to Jude, Historical Jesus, Revelation, Noncanonical Texts, Paul the Apostle, Synoptic Problem and Q, Textual Criticism, Tools and Resources, and Women and Gender.  Includes individual search engines, bibliographical references, and full texts.

http://www.ntgateway.com/

 

Electronic New Testament Educational Resources

Links to audio lectures, maps & charts, and other resources related to the New Testament.

http://catholic-resources.org/Bible/index.html

 

Electronic Tools and Ancient Near East Archives (ETANA)

Contains open-access articles, images, and texts from the Ancient Near East.  Searchable.

http://www.etana.org/home

 

The Qumran Library

Images and translations of Dead Sea Scrolls.

http://www.ibiblio.org/expo/deadsea.scrolls.exhibit/Library/library.html

 

Resource Pages for Biblical studies

Includes pages on Texts and Translations, Social World of the NT, and Philo of Alexandria, which embrace searchable databases yielding bibliographic references, full-text manuscripts and articles, and images of texts and other artifacts.

http://torreys.org/bible/

 

Scrolls from the Dead Sea

Images and translations of, and articles about the scrolls.

http://www.loc.gov/exhibits/scrolls/toc.html

Also at:  http://www.ibiblio.org/expo/deadsea.scrolls.exhibit/intro.html

 

Sefaria: Living Library of Jewish Texts

Free online Hebrew texts of sacred writings and commentaries.

http://sefaria.org/

 

A Synoptic Gospels Primer

Explanation of the “synoptic problem,” with parallel texts and relevant articles.

http://virtualreligion.net/primer/

 

lectio difficilior

An online journal of feminist exegesis, hermeneutics, and related disciplines.

http://www.lectio.unibe.ch/e/archiv.htm

Email: Library Reference Desk --- Phone: 859.280.1229 -- Skype: lts.library -- Address: 230 Lexington Green Circle, Suite 300, Lexington, KY 40503

Webmail -- Seminary Homepage

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip