About/Contact UsDistance ResourcesFaculty
DatabasesFree Online Resources
The DTL and MoreUsing the Online Catalog
General InterestsInterpreting Behaviour (IB): EthicsLeading in Faith (LF): Teaching FaithLeading in Mission (LM): Leadership and MissionInterpreting Scripture (IS): BibleInterpreting the Past (IP): Church HistoryInterpreting Faith (IF): TheologyLeading in Care (LC): Pastoral CareLeading in Worship (LW): Liturgy
Research ToolsCourse Guides
This is the "Interpreting the Past (IP): Church History" page of the "Homepage of the Lexington Theological Seminary Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Homepage of the Lexington Theological Seminary Library  

Last Updated: Jun 18, 2017 URL: http://lextheo.libguides.com/home Print Guide

Interpreting the Past (IP): Church History Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

IP (History)

E-Books:

 

American Christianities: A History of Dominance and Diversity. Ed. Catherine A. Brekus and W. Clark Gilpin. University of North Carolina Press, 2011.

A collection of essays exploring the history and contemporary realities of the diversity within American congregations.

http://lextheo.worldcat.org/oclc/770009266

 

The Blackwell Companion to Protestantism. Ed. Alister E. McGrath and Darren C. Marks. Blackwell Publishers, 2004.

Collection of essays exploring the origins and significance of Protestant Christianity.

http://lextheo.worldcat.org/oclc/52091930

 

The Cambridge companion to Martin Luther. Ed. Donald K. McKim. Cambridge University Press, 2003.

Collection of essays treating the origin, theology, and significance of Martin Luther.

http://lextheo.worldcat.org/oclc/63180288

 

Edwards, Korie L. The Elusive Dream: The Power of Race in Interracial Churches. Oxford University Press, 2008.

An exploration of race relations within interracial churches, and how they can both replicate and critique racial inequality.

http://lextheo.worldcat.org/oclc/263170077

 

Global Christianity: Contested Claims. Ed. Frans Wijsen and Robert Schreiter. Rodopi, 2007.

A collection of essays issuing from an international conference on southern Christianity and its relation to Christianity in the north.

http://lextheo.worldcat.org/oclc/182812416

 

McDaniel, Eric L. Politics in the Pews: the Political Mobilization of Black Churches. University of Michigan Press, 2008.

Explores the history and dynamics of political engagement from within African American churches.

http://lextheo.worldcat.org/oclc/471131048

 

The Routledge Companion to the Christian Church. Ed. Gerard Mannion and Lewis S. Mudge. Routledge, 2008.

Collection of essays treating various aspects of the history and significance of Christianity.

http://lextheo.worldcat.org/oclc/191541481

 

The Stone-Campbell Movement: A Global History, ed. D. Newell Williams, Douglas A. Foster, and Paul M. Blowers. Chalice, 2012.

Reviews the Stone Campbell Movement experiences in a global perspective.

http://lextheo.worldcat.org/oclc/834144270

 

Studying Global Pentecostalism: Theories and Methods. Ed. Allan Anderson, et al. University of California Press, 2010.

Interdisciplinary articles examining the various global permutations of Pentecostalism.

http://lextheo.worldcat.org/oclc/663968080

 

T & T Clark Companion to Methodism. Ed. Charles Yrigoyen, Jr. T & T Clark, 2010.

Collection of essays treating various aspects of the history and significance of the Wesleys and Methodism.

http://lextheo.worldcat.org/oclc/676697098

 

Websites:

 

AARDOC: African-American Religion: A Documentary History Project

A comprehensive history of African-American religion, from the earliest African-European encounters along the west coast of Africa in the mid-fifteenth century to the present day. This history will be presented in a three-part, multi-volume series that will include representative documents and interpretive commentary.

http://www3.amherst.edu/~aardoc/

 

Ad Hoc: Image and Text Database on the History of Christianity

Provides digital resources for teaching and research related to the history of Christianity. Searchable.

http://divdl.library.yale.edu/dl/index.aspx?qc=AdHoc

 

African American Pamphlets Collection

Online collection.  Searchable.

http://lcweb2.loc.gov/ammem/aapquery.html

 

American Memory (Library of Congress)

A collection of databases containing resources, texts, images, and recordings from U.S. history and peoples.  Searchable.

http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/index.html

 

The Catholic Encyclopedia (1913 Ed.)

Full text.

http://www.newadvent.org/cathen/

 

Center for Restoration Studies

A repository of books, archival materials (cabinets and boxes of file folders, papers, audio/video cassettes etc.) and artifacts connected with the Stone-Campbell Restoration Movement.  Includes digital texts and audio resources, as well as links to other resources. Searchable.

http://bibleacu.com/crs/

 

The Church in the Southern Black Community

collects autobiographies, biographies, church documents, sermons, histories, encyclopedias, and other published materials.

http://docsouth.unc.edu/church/

 

The Coptic Network

Articles, artifacts, and indexes of interest to the Coptic community and its observers.

http://www.coptic.net/CopticWeb/    

 

Diotima: Materials for the Study of Women and Gender in the Ancient World

 This site includes course materials, the beginnings of a systematic and searchable bibliography, and links to many on-line resources, including articles, book reviews, databases, and images.

http://www.stoa.org/diotima/

 

The Ecole Initiative

Hypertext encyclopedia of early church history, with links to numerous electronic documents.  Although it is no longer actively maintained, the EI still contains 700 pages with links to a multitude of topics in Church History.

http://ecole.evansville.edu/

 

Femínae: Medieval Women and Gender Index

Covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages.  An index only, producing bibliographical references.  No full-text.

http://inpress.lib.uiowa.edu/feminae/default.aspx

 

Fire and Ice: Puritan and Reformed Writings

An archive of texts.  Searchable.

http://www.puritansermons.com/index.htm

 

Global Anabaptist Mennonite Encyclopedia Online (GAMEO)

 information on Anabaptist-related (Amish, Mennonite, Hutterite, Brethren in Christ) topics, including history, theology, biography, institutions and local congregations. Secular topics from an Anabaptist perspective and full-text source documents are also included. Searchable.

http://www.gameo.org/

 

Guide to Early Church Documents

Links to full-text documents from the councils and Fathers.

http://www.iclnet.org/pub/resources/christian-history.html

 

Internet Ancient History Sourcebook: Christian Origins

Collection of links to texts, studies, articles, and essays concerning the formative centuries of the Christian Church.  Searchable.

http://www.fordham.edu/halsall/ancient/asbook11.asp

 

Internet Modern History Sourcebook

Collection of links to texts, studies, articles, and essays concerning the modern world.  Searchable.

http://www.fordham.edu/halsall/mod/modsbook.asp

 

Restoration History

Collection of links to texts and audio resources concerning the Restoration Movement.  Searchable.

http://www.therestorationmovement.com/

 

Wesleyan-Holiness Digital Library

The Wesleyan-Holiness Digital Library is a free, multidisciplinary, open access, digital resource of books, literature, multimedia material, and archives.  Searchable.

http://www.whdl.org/

Email: Library Reference Desk --- Phone: 859.280.1229 -- Skype: lts.library -- Address: 230 Lexington Green Circle, Suite 300, Lexington, KY 40503

Webmail -- Seminary Homepage

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip